Current Job Openings Skip to main content

Current Job Openings


Please Click Below To Apply

Substitute Bus Driver

Equipment Mechanic

Substitute Bus Aide

In order to become a School Bus Driver in Douglas County, an applicant must:

  • Have a good driving record
  • Pass a drug test
  • Be fingerprinted
  • Pass a background check to make certain that only those who are safe around children drive our buses.
  • Pass a physical examination 
  • Pass random drug and/or alcohol testing as required by law.
  • Hold a valid Nevada School Bus Driver's Certificate, which must be updated annually.


Training consists of passing a written DMV test for Commercial Drivers License, Class “B” with an air brake, school bus and passenger endorsement test.

Only after they pass the written test do they start the training by our instructors. Nevada State Law requires a minimum of 20 hours of classroom and 20 hours behind the wheel training for School Bus Drivers. Unless a person has had prior experience, we have found that it takes much more time to teach a driver the skills necessary to drive a school bus; 50 or more hours is common.

After a driver has completed the initial training, they are tested behind the wheel in a vehicle inspection, skills course, and an on the road test. If they pass all of the required driving tests they receive their Commercial Drivers License.

Our drivers are not released to drive on their own until they drive at least 4 routes with an instructor and/or veteran driver on-board assessing their performance.

All drivers are assessed periodically. They also attend in-service classes and safety meetings throughout the year.